banner imagebanner imagebanner imagebanner image
banner image
banner imagePlacerbanner imagebanner imagebanner image
banner image
advertise advertise
  • Bebo
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Podcast
  • RSS
  • Twitter
  • Youtube

Event Calendar

Today's Schedule

Brit Asia TV Music Awards 2010 Official Nominees

  • 4-10-2010
  • Categorized in: News


Stars of the British Asian Music Scene were in attendance at the Brit Asia Music Awards “Media Nominations Party”.  Set in the prestigious Ricoh Arena in Coventry guests were treated with Champagne and Canapés courtesy of Mahirs Catering.  The V.I.P guests all waited in bated breath to hear Sukhi Barth, Brit Asia TV presenter to announce the nominees for the 15 categories.

Rolling on his State-side success there was one clear undisputed winner, Jay Sean was nominated for a staggering six nominations. Following closely behind with brummie local Jaz Dhami up for an impressive four! The support from the Media was fantastic with local, regional and national media outlets rallying behind British Asian Artists. The BATV Music Awards will take place on Sunday, May 2 during the Bank Holiday weekend and is set to feature some of the biggest names in Bhangra and British Asian Music, as well as featuring popular UK urban influences.  

Sheila Nakra, Director of Brit Asia TV, free on Sky Channel 833 reported from the glamorous affair as ‘a fantastic start to the spectacular awards ceremony taking place on the 2nd May, 2010 Bank Holiday weekend. Support from the Asian media has been incredible; we’ve teamed up with five local and regional radio stations across the UK, Desi Radio Nu Soundz Radio and Asian Star Radio in London, Awaz Radio in Scotland, Raaj FM in the Midlands and BBC Asian Network. In addition to Asian media, BPM Media have been on hand to support us in bringing this celebration of British Asian Music to the people of the UK. As the only British Asian Music and entertainment channel, it is important that we recognize the hard work from all of the Artists across the British Asia Music Scene fairly. We achieved this perfectly by the open public web vote where the winners were chosen by the public. Web votes were collected, verified and counted by an independent adjudicator via

Nominees with the highest number of phone votes will be counted and verified by an independent adjudicator and announced as ‘Category Award Winners’ at Symphony Hall on 2nd May, 2010.  

The official breakdown of the nominees for the Brit Asia TV Music Awards, 2010 is as follows: 

Best Newcomer Best Album Best Asian Act Best International Act
Kaz Kumar Imran Khan - Unforgettable Shizzio Rahat Fateh Ali Khan
Jaz Dhami Jaz Dhami - JD Jay Sean Miss Pooja
JK Jay Sean - All Or Nothing Sef Manmohan Waris
Mumzy Surjit Khan - Headliner Mumzy Gurdas Mann
Jaswinder Daghamia Sukshinder Shinda Collaborations 2 AG Dolla Babbu Mann
Roach Killa PBN - Homegrown Roach Killa Hadiqa Kiyani
Best Single Best Urban Act Best Producer Best Alternative Act
Imran Khan - Amplifier Jay Sean Rishi Rich Talvin Singh
Jaz Dhami - Theke Wali Chipmunk Aman Hayer Sukh Knight
JK - Pat Liyah Tinchy Strider Eren E Niraj Chag
Sukshinder Shinda - Gum Sum Dizzee Rascal Sukshinder Shinda Shiva Soundsystem
Dark MC - Chori Chori Sway Tru Skool Asian Dub Foundation
Jay Sean - Down Bashy PBN Fusing Naked Beats
Best Male Best Video Best DJ Best Female
Imran Khan Dark MC - Chori Chori DJ H Miss Pooja
Jaz Dhami Jay Sean - Down DJ Vix Hadiqa Kiyani
Jay Sean Taj E - B.I.G Jags Klimax Hard Kaur
Sukshinder Shinda Sushinder Shinda - Gum Sum Panjabi MC Kaz Kumar
Malkit Singh Des-C - Jiska Hasna DJ Gurps Karen David
Angrej Ali Imran  khan - Amplifier DJ Kayper Amar
Best Band
Sushinder Shinda & Band
En Karma
Jazzy B & Band
Malkit Singh & Band

Fans of British Asian Music can vote now via the Text lines which are now open!

Fans can vote by texting TEXT 64343 + NAME OF CATEGORY + ARTIST

Fans of British Asian Music can text to vote for their favorite Artist.

Guide to Voting:

Step 1: Text ‘64343’

Step 2: Enter Category, i.e. ‘Newcomer’

Step 3: Enter Artists’ name, i.e. for Kazz Kumar (KUMAR)

Fans can vote as many times as they like!

Winners will be announced on the 2nd May, 2010 at the Symphony Hall in Birmingham – to celebrate the best of British Asian Talent

Texts cost £1 per text and voters are charged at the network rate.

For more info on voting log on to & for Terms and Conditions on voting please ring 0207 940 7474 or visit

Text is charged at £1, plus the cost the standard network text - if voters are under 16 please ask for the Bill Payers permission before voting.

*Voters are advised that your service provider may limit your texting capacity and may still charge you.
Tickets for the event will be on sale via the Symphony Hall Box office on 0121 780 3333
and via, priced from £27.50, £49.40 & £75.
For additional enquiries please call 0870 818 0000.

The official breakdown of the nominees for the Brit Asia TV Music Awards, 2010 is as follows:

Email to Friend

Fill in the form below to send this news item to a friend:

Email to Friend
* Your Name:
* Your Email:
* Friend's Name:
* Friend's Email:
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image
* Message:

Weekly Poll

What would you like for Valentines Day
Flowers and Chocolates
A Surprise Gift
A Weekend Away
Romantic Dinner

Sponsors & Partners

Powered by Flame Multimedia